Calico Rock History
Calico Rock was named by French fur traders because of the "calico patterned " bluffs in the 1820's. The White River, which cuts it's way through the bluffs, was a major Arkansas waterway. In 1897 a major fire destroyed the town. In 1902 the construction began on the St. Louis and Iron Mountain Railway. With the railroad, Calico Rock became the major trade center for Izard, Stone, and Baxter counties. The train depot was a hub of activity from 1902-1966 when it was demolished after Highway 5 Bridge opened. It was also a major landing for steamboats until 1902, the last to dock was the Ozark Queen.
Calico Rock Main Street
In 1903 the Bank of Calico Rock was the first building to be erected. Disaster struck again in 1923 when a spark from the train started a fire and destroyed the buildings on the east side and part of the west side. The buildings along the main street were rebuilt during the 1920/1930's. The main street of Calico Rock is listed on the National Register of Historic Places in America.
Calico Rock also has a beautiful park that provides a relaxing place to walk, have a picnic, and enjoy the babbling stream that flows through it.
America's Only Living Ghost Town
The only authentic ghost town inside the city limits of a town in America boasts a storied past. One story involves the Killian Feed Mill that was originally the Cotton Gin, which was featured in John Grisham's "A Painted House."